The Pvritan by Birgitte Märgen

Posted 03/20/2021 by Charli in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

The Pvritan

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Pvritan by Birgitte MärgenThe Pvritan by Birgitte Märgen
Published by Independently Published on September 3, 2020
Genres: Crime, Fiction, Horror, Mystery & Detective, Thrillers
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads
four-stars

Say thy prayers, ye devil-tongued fools, lest the Wing-Maker come for you.
"...the comparisons to Thomas Harris are well-earned." -Danielle R., NetGalley reviewer
"...this is the BEST book I have read to date." --Laura, Goodreads reviewer
"Smart, dark, gritty." --Brittney, NetGalley reviewer
MINDHUNTER meets HANNIBAL LECTER in this brilliantly crafted and disturbing thriller from Birgitte Märgen, the haunting new voice of horror and suspense. In the tradition of Thomas Harris, Michael Connelly, and Jo Nesbø, THE PVRITAN is a thriller fueled by a serial killer terrorizing Boston and the detectives trying to stop him. Who is the Wing-Maker? Can he be stopped, or has the soul of his next victim already taken flight?
A MAN'S BODY is found hanging in the Boston Common, his eyes missing and skin mutilated beyond recognition, transforming him into a winged demon. Weeks later, a young girl's body is discovered under a layer of ice, her skin carved into angel wings.
Boston Homicide Detective Marti Zucco and her partner, Detective Neil Cavanaugh, are in a race against time to stop the wing-maker, a twisted psychopath who has left a trail of complex clues. A gang-ridden path that will take them through the gates of Hell and into an underground world of sexual perversion.
For Marti, her faith will be tested as more bodies continue to mount and she walks among the ghosts, following in the footprints of the killer known as the Puritan.
PRAISE FOR THE PVRITAN
"This is a fantastically crafted detective thriller and the comparisons to Thomas Harris are well-earned." -Danielle R., NetGalley reviewer
"...a sure favorite for fans of James Patterson." --Jennifer Jackson, Indies Today, 5 star review
"...honestly one of the best mysteries I have ever read..." --Amazon reviewer
"This book is a predicted five star and OMG! Amazing! --Jei G., Goodreads reviewer
"This book was fantastic. Definitely a 5 out of 5 book for me!" --Michelle K., NetGalley reviewer
"It's creepy, at times horrifying, and with plenty of twists and turns to keep you going right up to the very last page." -Glenda M., NetGalley
"...have a clear schedule because this book is 100% unputdownable!" --Cassidy M., NetGalley reviewer
"Very atmospheric investigation with enough dark gruesome parts to satisfy fans of Mindhunter/Thomas Harris/Criminal Minds." -Danielle R., NetGalley reviewer
"This was a great horror novel..." -Kay M., NetGally reviewer
" . . . positively veers into the horrific realm at times." --Mia D., NetGalley reviewer
"This book had my heart racing a few times." --Ashley T., NetGalley reviewer
"The book was so addicting that I couldn't put it down!" --Hannah Jane F., NetGalley reviewer
"The Pvritan is an excellent and atmospheric mystery! It's fast paced and keeps you wanting to read more." --Ashley T., NetGalley reviewer
"I devoured this!" Jei G., Goodreads reviewer
"...a great serial killer murder mystery with roots in the Salem Witch Trial era of history."--Stacy W., NetGalley reviewer
"The Pvritan is one great book. The story this one told was simply amazing."--Rubie C., NetGalley reviewer

CW: The Pvritan contains violence, gore, murder, language, animal death, abuse, suicide, and religion

The Pvritan Plot

I thought The Pvritan’s plot was both unique and standard. Standard in the sense that it was a typical murder mystery with police detectives featuring as the main characters. Unique in that it used gruesome imagery for the murders, as well as a mix of both likely and unlikely murder victims. Usually the victims are either all likely victims or all unlikely victims. That there was a mix of these types was refreshing.

I was also impressed with the way Birgitte Märgen interspersed bits and pieces about the murderer through the story. She tries to give the reader a feel for the murderer and who he/she is without giving away who he/she is. It’s very interesting to get glimpses in to the mind of our killer.

Another thing I was impressed with plot-wise were the twists. Just when you think you might have something figured out, a curveball gets thrown at you. You’re suddenly not understanding what on earth is going on.

The Pvritan Characters

Detective Marti Zucco

I really like Marti. She’s dedicated to her job – perhaps a bit too dedicated. She has an aversion to birds that I would dearly love to know the full story behind and it is highly apparent in the story. She isn’t great with people, and it’s pretty obvious. Of course, she also has a tragic backstory to go along with her character. She works great with our next character in The Pvritan, her partner Neil Cavanaugh.

Detective Neil Cavanaugh

Neil is one of those characters you can’t help but love. He’s the complete opposite of Marti and it shows. He’s boisterous and great with people. But to be honest, he has his hands full with both his family and his partner. He’s a great character and the author was spot on to pair him with Marti.

My Analysis

I really enjoyed this book. I loved the characters, the plot twists, and the vibe it gave off in general. However, I did think that the ending was a bit abrupt. There was no epilogue or anything to give us an idea of what might have happened after the big show down. This was a bit disappointing.

One thing I have to say is that I really enjoyed the use of the Geneva Bible in the book. It was a refreshing thing as most books won’t incorporate anything like that. I love the original spellings of the words being used as well. While others might find it difficult to read, I had no issues.

I am also sincerely hoping that there will be more books with this pair of detectives. Marti and Neil work so well together and I’d love to see more books featuring them. Perhaps a second book that gives a clearer picture of what happened after the end of The Pvritan.

I gave this book four stars because it was a great book, however I felt there were a couple of things that could have been done better. If you’re a fan of murder mysteries with great twists and don’t mind a bit of gore, this book is for you.

four-stars