Down the TBR Hole #6

09/17/2022     Charli     Meme

So I found Down the TBR Hole on Pages & Plots, but I’ve also seen it on Kerri McBookNerd, and Read to Ramble. It was originally created by Lost in a Story (blog unavailable).

Basically you go to Goodreads, look at your “Want to Read” shelf, order it in ascending order of when the books were added, then take the first 5 (or more) books, read the synopsis and then decide whether or not to keep the book in your TBR.

The Books

This week we are starting with 161 books on my Want to Read shelf. Let’s see how many books we can remove from that shelf, shall we?

Down the TBR Hole #6What You Did by Claire McGowan
Published by Thomas & Mercer on 09/15/2022
Genres: Fiction / Thrillers / Domestic, Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological, Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Pages: 284
Goodreads

"A brilliant, breathless thriller that kept me guessing to the last shocking page." --Erin Kelly, Sunday Times bestselling author of He Said/She Said

An Amazon Charts and Washington Post bestseller.

It was supposed to be the perfect reunion: six university friends together again after twenty years. Host Ali finally has the life she always wanted, a career she can be proud of and a wonderful family with her college boyfriend, now husband. But that night her best friend makes an accusation so shocking that nothing will ever be the same again.

When Karen staggers in from the garden, bleeding and traumatised, she claims that she has been assaulted--by Ali's husband, Mike. Ali must make a split-second decision: who should she believe? Her horrified husband, or her best friend? With Mike offering a very different version of events, Ali knows one of them is lying--but which? And why?

When the ensuing chaos forces her to re-examine the golden era the group shared at university, Ali realises there are darker memories too. Memories that have lain dormant for decades. Memories someone would kill to protect.

I’ve had this book on my Want to Read shelf since 2019. While the description looks good, I’m figuring if I haven’t picked it up by now, I’m probably not going to, so it’s going to be leaving my shelf.


Down the TBR Hole #6The Girl Who Loved Ghosts by K. C. Tansley
on 09/16/2019
Genres: Young Adult Fiction / Ghost Stories
Pages: 302
Goodreads

She'd do anything to save her friends and family. But will that mean sacrificing the ghosts she's grown to love?

Kat is trying to settle back into her senior year at McTernan Academy, but destiny keeps getting in the way of schoolwork and friendships. Continuing her magical training means abandoning her best friend, until an attack by a mysterious entity on campus proves that the only place they'll both be safe is Dumbarton, the ancestral home of the Langley family.

Evan struggles with his coursework, a flirty new housemate, and his daunting responsibilities as the Kingsley heir and new owner of Ravenhurst manor. He tries to hold onto his normal college life, but he knows it's only a matter of time before he and Kat have to travel into the past again... And Kat is in mortal danger every minute they wait to retrieve the last amulet they need to defeat the Dark One.

As her normal life slips further away, Kat must face the terrible cost that comes with time travel. Completing her quest in the present requires changing the past. She knows that the results of her actions can be disastrous--because the ghosts of her ancestors tell her of their tragic fates. A trip to eighteenth-century Connecticut might change everything. Kat tries to protect everyone she loves, but risks destroying every relationship that matters to her.

This one I feel bad about. I’d been an ARC reader for K. C. Tansley’s first two books in this series, and I’d actually had an ARC for this one, but I just couldn’t get into it. Now I just don’t think I’d enjoy it at all, so it’s going to be leaving the shelf as well.


Down the TBR Hole #6Night Film by Marisha Pessl
Published by Random House Publishing Group on 08/20/2013
Genres: Fiction / Literary, Fiction / Psychological, Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Pages: 640
Goodreads

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR • Cosmopolitan • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.
 
On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.
 
For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova’s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.
 
Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova’s eerie, hypnotic world.
 
The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.
 
Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.

Praise for Night Film
 
Night Film has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl’s deft touch with character.”—Joe Hill, The New York Times Book Review
 
“Mysterious and even a little head-spinning, an amazing act of imagination.”—Dean Baquet, The New York Times Book Review
 
“Maniacally clever . . . Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche. . . . As a study of a great mythmaker, Night Film is an absorbing act of myth-making itself. . . . Dastardly fun . . . The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe. . . . You’ll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on.”The Washington Post
 
“Haunting . . . a suspenseful, sprawling page-turner.”USA Today
 
“Entrancing and delightful . . . [a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller . . . It feels, above all things, new.”The Boston Globe
 
“Gripping . . . a masterful puzzle . . . Pessl builds up real suspense.”Entertainment Weekly
 
“A very deeply imagined book . . . sprints to an ending that’s equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there’s some secret detail that will snap everything into focus.”New York
 
“Hypnotic . . . The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film . . . but in Pessl’s own Night Film as well.”Vanity Fair

I have tried on multiple occasions to read this book. I’ve checked it out of my local library through the Libby app and I just don’t get very far into it before I put it down and let the loan end and the book go back to the library. This one goes.


Down the TBR Hole #6The Bone Houses by Emily Lloyd-Jones
on 09/24/2019
Genres: Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / Historical, YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Historical / Medieval, Young Adult Fiction / Horror, Young Adult Fiction / Zombies
Pages: 352
Goodreads

Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Sky in the Deep in this bewitching historical horror novel, perfect for fans of Holly Black and V.E. Schwab.
Seventeen-year-old Aderyn ("Ryn") only cares about two things: her family and her family's graveyard. And right now, both are in dire straits. Since the death of their parents, Ryn and her siblings have been scraping together a meager existence as gravediggers in the remote village of Colbren, which sits at the foot of a harsh and deadly mountain range that was once home to the fae. The problem with being a gravedigger in Colbren, though, is that the dead don't always stay dead.
The risen corpses are known as "bone houses," and legend says that they're the result of a decades-old curse. When Ellis, an apprentice mapmaker with a mysterious past, arrives in town, the bone houses attack with new ferocity. What is it that draws them near? And more importantly, how can they be stopped for good?
Together, Ellis and Ryn embark on a journey that will take them into the heart of the mountains, where they will have to face both the curse and the deeply-buried truths about themselves. Equal parts classic horror novel and original fairy tale, The Bone Houses will have you spellbound from the very first page.
An instant IndieBound bestseller!

So this one has piqued my interest, and while it has been on the shelf since 2019, I just can’t bear to part with it just yet. This one is going to stay for the time being.


Down the TBR Hole #6Donn's Shadow by Caryn Larrinaga
Also by this author: Donn's Hill
Published by Twisted Tree Press on 10/22/2019
Pages: 320
Goodreads

Return to the most haunted small town in America...

Mackenzie Clair finally has this whole ghost-hunting psychic thing figured out. The Soul Searchers are a hit, she's got pet-parenting down, and she even has a plan to banish the poltergeist running amok at a lakeside cabin. Best of all, Donn's Hill feels like home. But not everyone loves the town as much as Mac.

A world-famous paranormal debunker thinks the psychics in Donn's Hill are lying about their abilities. His determination to destroy the Soul Searchers threatens Mac's livelihood, and when a killer strikes, the sheriff's suspicions threaten her freedom.

Mac needs all the help she can get to find the real murderer and clear her name... even if that help comes from beyond the grave.

Look for all of Caryn Larrinaga's spooky mysteries featuring psychic Mac and her spirited tortoiseshell cat, Striker:

  • Donn's Hill
  • Donn's Shadow

I read the first book in this series, but I couldn’t get into this book, which is the second one in the series. I’m going to go ahead and pull this one off the shelf.


Well, we removed 4 books, bringing the shelf down to 157 books. I’ve had a look at what I’m dealing with in the future and I’m seeing a few books that will be leaving my shelf, so I think I might be able to whittle this down eventually. Again, removing these books doesn’t mean that I’ll never pick them up from the library or something and read them, I’ve just taken them off the “TBR” pile to help get it under control.