First Lines Fridays – August 12, 2022

08/12/2022     Charli     Meme

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first
  • Finally… reveal the book!

Today’s first lines are…

Kate Sweet touched her earpiece, activating the microphone.
“Carl? You and the pumpkin are in position?”
“Roger that, Kate.”
“Perfect! The newlyweds are coming. Cue the bubbles.”

And the book is…

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

First Lines Fridays – August 12, 2022How Sweet It Is by Dylan Newton
Published by Grand Central Publishing on 07/13/2021
Genres: Fiction / Romance / Contemporary, Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy, Fiction / Romance / Workplace, Fiction / Small Town & Rural, Fiction / Women
Pages: 368
Amazon
Goodreads
Bookhype

What happens when the queen of romance falls for the king of horror--you get "a hilarious rom-com romp," perfect for fans of Beach Read. (Kirkus, starred review)

Event planner Kate Sweet is famous for creating the perfect happily-ever-after moment for her clients’ dream weddings. So how is it that her best friend has roped her into planning a bestselling horror writer’s book launch extravaganza? But the second Kate meets—or rather, accidentally maims—the drop-dead-hot Drake Matthews, her well-ordered life quickly transforms into an absolute nightmare.

Drake Matthews is tired of the spotlight and tired of his reputation as the Knight of Nightmares. He's really a nice guy! But he’s not prepared for Kate, a fearless agent of chaos in steel-tipped stilettos, or for that sweet sting of attraction he feels for her. She’s inspiring him to take his writing in a whole new direction—one that no one expects. Because now Kate and Drake are changing up the rules, and this plot twist might just surprise everyone . . . including themselves.

"Fans of The Hating Game by Sally Thorne, Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston, Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert, and Written in the Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur will adore How Sweet It Is!" --The Nerd Daily

As featured in:
PopSugar: Must-Read July Books
PopSugar: 12 Swoonworthy Romances to Read in One Sitting


Have you read this one? If so, what did you think of it?