Dark Rhapsody by Helaine Mario

Posted 07/23/2018 by Charli in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Edelweiss+ in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Dark Rhapsody by Helaine MarioDark Rhapsody by Helaine Mario
Published by Oceanview Publishing on July 3, 2018
Genres: Fiction, International Mystery & Crime, Mystery & Detective, Romance, Suspense
Pages: 386
Format: ARC
Source: Edelweiss+
Goodreads
dnf

Perfect for fans of Sandra Brown and Iris Johannsen.
In 1945, an Austrian girl discovers a priceless Nazi treasure near a remote alpine lake and sets in motion a decades-old secret that will change lives for generations to come.
Many years later, classical pianist Maggie O'Shea is preparing her return to the world of music. Instead, a nightmare of a haunting rhapsody and hundreds of roses from a deranged stalker propel her into a world of terror. Forces drive her to revisit the mystery of her mother's death, her father's startling disappearance, and a terrible secret from World War II. Maggie finds herself on a collision course with a brutal, disfigured killer who threatens those she holds dear—an aging pianist with a long-buried secret, a haunted cellist, a charismatic Maestro, and the crusty retired colonel she has come to love.
Chord by chord, Rachmaninoff's Rhapsody becomes the heart of this story of profound loss, courage and love. Music tells our stories ...


I wanted to like Dark Rhapsody – and I did… at first. But then, I just lost interest. It wasn’t that it switched between character points of view because that’s normal and I don’t have a problem with it. It also wasn’t that the book was lacking in action, because the book isn’t. It’s got plenty of intrigue, plenty of action, and plenty that should have kept me interested. But… I just wasn’t.

The book itself is great. I cannot deny that the book, up to where I left off, was great. It was just that for some reason, I lost interest in the book. Perhaps it is my overwhelming NetGalley TBR pile that I keep adding books to because I’m being requested to. Perhaps it is because I have a TBR pile a mile high of eBooks that I own. Or perhaps right now just isn’t the time for me to finish this book.

I’ll definitely be getting my own copy of this book – and looking to see if there is a book that goes before it, as it seems as though this is a sequel to some other book. Perhaps that is part of my problem as well. I don’t care to read books out of series, so perhaps I just need to get the previous book(s). I do recommend this book, I just couldn’t seem to finish it at the moment.

dnf