Review: You Won’t Believe Me by Cyn Balog

Posted 06/26/2023 by Charli in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

You Won't Believe Me Book Cover

I received this book for free from NetGalley to facilitate my review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may contain material that is disturbing to some readers. Please Google for trigger warnings as I cannot possibly find/relay every trigger warning. Thank you!
Review: You Won’t Believe Me by Cyn BalogYou Won't Believe Me by Cyn Balog
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on 06/27/2023
Genres: Young Adult Fiction / Dystopian, Young Adult Fiction / Horror, Young Adult Fiction / Thrillers & Suspense / Psychological
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley

Brace yourself for the unexpected in this chilling novel that will thrill suspense and horror readers alike! Willow can't remember what landed her in captivity, but she'll do anything to survive. For fans of Natasha Preston and Stephen King.

Willow is alone, confined to a bed with restraints. She can't remember how she got there...or how long she's been there.

An old lady appears in her room to feed her twice a day. Granny doesn't talk, but Willow can hear thumping from somewhere beyond her door. It's not Granny's shuffling steps. It's too loud to be Granny's cat. Is it someone? Something?

Then Granny's cat dies in Willow's room. And Granny follows a few days later. Willow will do anything to survive. But freeing herself from her bed is only the beginning... Because there is someone else in the house. Who is this mysterious teen who calls himself Elijah? And is he the reason she's hostage or the key to her escape?

Don't miss these other gripping novels from Cyn Balog:

Alone

That Night

Unnatural Deeds

You Won’t Believe Me by Cyn Balog was a ride from beginning to end. A fast paced Young Adult novel that is part thriller, part horror, and all awesome.

You really only get to know two characters, Willow and Elijah. You get to know them, sort of. By the end of the book you won’t know what about them is real or isn’t. But that’s the beauty of the story. You just don’t know because you won’t know what to believe. Just as you think you know who these two are and what they are, a twist pops up and you’re back to square one with them. Brilliant.

This is one of the most unique plots I’ve seen in a long time. You start out thinking something is horribly wrong but don’t know exactly what, then find out there was some sort of zombie apocalypse, but then a twist blows everything you’d discovered out of the water. It’s a brilliant plot and I was entranced by it for the entirety of the book.

The writing was simply awesome. It was easy to read, easy to follow, and it didn’t drag. Sure, some might find some of the descriptive areas to be boring or unnecessary, but the fact of the matter is, the descriptive areas serve a purpose that will be revealed when it is time. I read the book in a matter of hours – I think around 4 hours, maybe 5 – because I couldn’t put it down.

The ending is absolutely amazing. You’ll never see the ending coming. I was so startled when I finished this book because I just never thought that what Elijah says is true… trust me when I say, the title is apt.

I gave this book 4.5 stars because it’s a beautifully written story that gives off dystopian and zombie apocalypse vibes with a huge twist at the end that knocks you out of your chair.